The Changing Colors of Memories

I’m finding it very interesting how my memories of my youth have a different effect depending on the form in which they come to mind, and the timing. A memory that makes me smile and laugh at one moment can usher in tears the next.

Then I ponder my immediate existence. What kind of memories am I making and how will they be viewed later? What emotions are being interwoven with these future memories that I am not aware of? When recalled at a later date will these future memories drag with them into view a bucket of emotions?

At times I’m amazed at how the human brain works. It functions without stopping while multitasking to keep us vertical and breathing. There are no memories attached to breathing or digesting one’s food, the body just does it. Now enter in smells or tastes, that opens up a whole new direction with memories flowing from many different experiences, even the ones we don’t remember having made. It seems that some memories connect very deeply to our inner man, or spirit, and are recalled through our connections that are tethered to our hearts.

I offer no answers or understandings on how this whole process works. I simply share something that has ever amazed me – how we exist and what we feel.

About mikkiroderick

With age comes wisdom. With wisdom comes maturity. Maturity is not synonymous with growing up. I'm still a child at heart.
This entry was posted in Creative Thinking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

