The Older Sibling

I have one sister, she is older. There are many things she says and does that are directly affected by the fact she is the eldest child. I don’t believe I will ever truly understand her thought process or how she views life.

I believe she is a nurturer by nature and being the eldest has caused her to expand her wings in a protective stance frequently. We lost our mother to cancer years ago and are now learning new roles in life as our father is very ill.

My sister appears to trudge along undaunted by the magnitude of choices and decisions to be made concerning dad’s care. What she displays is what I’ve always seen in her, and who she is in my eyes. I don’t doubt her abilities or skills as she forges her way through life even during very trying times. She seems to always appear at the surface of whatever pond life has put before her with some type of tool at her disposal.

Then there’s the other side, the side that is hidden from everyday life and reserved for her family. Her husband and boys know that side of her very well, it’s the side that makes her an all encompassing mom. This is the side I see poking its heart through the strong exterior as she deals with the never ceasing tasks while leading the troops in caring for dad.

I have a ‘big sister’ and I’m very thankful for her, on many levels.

About mikkiroderick

With age comes wisdom. With wisdom comes maturity. Maturity is not synonymous with growing up. I'm still a child at heart.
This entry was posted in Words and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Older Sibling

  1. Mary says:

    Love it

    Like

Leave a Reply

