Heros

The humility of an authentic Hero
accentuates my inadequacies

About mikkiroderick

With age comes wisdom. With wisdom comes maturity. Maturity is not synonymous with growing up. I'm still a child at heart.
This entry was posted in Creative Thinking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heros

  1. Kathy F. says:

    I’m glad you added the word “authentic”. One of my pet peeves is the overuse of the words “hero” and miracle”. By over using such important words we dilute them and then have to use adjectives to describe them. As for the word “Humility” I think it’s very under appreciated virtue anymore. The perpetual state of interpersonal insecurity has made humble people nearly extinct. It was once a high virtue, but that was before the worship of celebrity and money.Oh it’s Monday, can’t you tell?
    “Accentuates my inadequacies” The quote speaks for me too. nice. I like it.

    Like

  2. Hi Kathy –
    I’m glad you were able to perceive my intent.
    I had just watched two PBS specials, one on the Korean War and one on Viet Nam, and was impressed by the true humility of the Heroes interviewed. Many of them are recipients of the Medal of Honor and none made any type of remark stating that they believed they had earned that honor. Many stated that the reason they accepted and wore the medal was for those who fought with them and lost their lives in doing so.
    Remarkable men.
    Then I started to ponder specific traits I saw in each person and then held those qualities over my value system for my life and was saddened by what I become conscious of.
    So, introspect completed. New Value System implemented. New day to start being a better me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

